top of page

Again?

The second surgery was a lot harder. There was a lot more after effects. I did not only have the tumor removed, I had that whole part of my brain removed. After this surgery, I was in tons of pain. It felt like they were consistently stabbing my head. I cried and screamed constant. No pain med would work! My dad would try to distract me but the pain was too great that no distractions would help. The attempt of distractions were actually annoying. Nurses were asking how much pain I was in, and I was always listing a 10. I never noticed that they were giving me pain meds. They tried multiple medicines, and I still felt in extreme pain. It was this way until they tried a certain medicine. This medicine worked well. In fact, it worked too well. I was knocked out cold. I passed out, my heart rate slowed, I was unconscious. I loved this because I finally got away from the pain. This caused the doctors and nurses panic. They had to do an emergency CT scan to make sure my brain was still working.

I never wanted to leave the hospital after the second surgery because I was in pain. It was hard to move. I could not do anything. My mother had to help make sure I was dressed. She had to pull me out of the bed to take a few steps before I would refuse to move and go back to my bed. My whole body was hurting. I felt like I was in a different body. I felt like I could not control my movements, the pain, or anything. I did not feel like anything they were doing to help was working.

bottom of page