top of page

Reality Crash

Yesterday, I got in a huge car crash.

My mind is stuck in that moment. I keep reliving the anxiety and panic that raced as one car is cutting me off but there is a car on all sides of me, so I was trapped and didn't know what to do. I tried to control the car and weave between the other drivers. Suddenly, my hands were trying to turn the car in the opposite direction that the car was driving and jerking back and forth, and I could not control the car.

I felt hopeless. What was I to do! I could keep trying to swerve and get control of my car, or risk hitting more vehicles. So I relax my grip on the steering wheel, and I spin in circles. Completely unaware of what exactly was going on.

Pop! I heard the loud noise of my airbags pop. Screech! I heard the screeching of my tires as they slide across the pavement. Then suddenly everything is white and silent.

I sit and stare, shocked at what just happened. Not knowing what to do. Not registering what I just experienced.

Slowly, I realize there are some people around my car telling me to turn my engine off. That is when I noticed the smoke. The air was full of smoke! The smell was so strong I couldn't tell if I would stay alert. I roll my window down, turn off the car, and park. Slowly, I pull myself out of my window onto a cement wall that I had hit. I just sit there, processing what happened, as I saw some people calling the police. I wasn't going to worry yet, because they were calling the police and getting help.

Suddenly, I go into a full alert mode, aware of everything going on and not thinking about anything. I saw my oils pouring out of the bottom of my car. I saw the front window shattered. I saw how the airbags were white and had gone off on both sides. I laughed at how the mirror which had hit the wall was still intact and connected to the car while everything else around it was shattered. I walked around to make sure that things were safe.

The policeman then got there and helped me out. The other vehicles which had caused the crash had taken off. My car was towed to a place where it would probably, eventually be demolished.

The Highway Patrol Man talked to me and showed me all the paperwork he had filled out and helped explain to me everything I needed to do. He helped me find my insurance, license, and everything else I needed. It was nice to have these strangers help me so much when I was in an experience I never expected.

Now, it still hasn't set in what happened: how I have lost my car, how I got helped by strangers, how many calls I had to make, how I got a ride, how I didn't break any bones. I am amazed at how well I turned out. Thankful that I had Mom near by to come help me out. Shocked with how someone could take off. Appreciating the kind people which help out in small and simple ways each day.

bottom of page