top of page

Family

Halloween 2017

Family Art

I love my family. When they support me, I feel more encouraged to pursue what I am after. When they don't support me, I eventually stop what they do not like. This shows how big of a difference the people who constantly surround you make. People can either support something good or something bad, but what people don't make comment to is equally as important.

Parents will see how if they give attention to their children when they are doing something they don't approve (trying to stop them), the child will not stop. But if parents comments one time but ignores the behavior (sometimes really hard!), the behavior will eventually go away (as long as other people – friends – are not supporting it either).

Angry bird face paint

One thing that people do not notice, is how different families treat the boys different than girls. Even in my amazing family, I occasionally experiences this. My experience was when I was really interested in nature: animals and plants. I was amazed with the differences in certain genus. Between two species who were related, they could either look completely different but still sisters, or they could be similar while not related at all. It amazed me.

The reason why I mention this though, is my family did not support it. No one seemed interested when I would nerd out information about each animal and distinguish them from one another. Eventually, I stopped caring and this talent left.

Years later, my brother got this same interest and began telling information to my family. I was surprised when my family was now amazed at the same talent I once expressed, but they supported now since it was a male who could become a boy scout, but they did not support a female doing this same masculine talent. My brother has now become more intelligent than I was about animals, but I still question why my parents support him doing the same thing that I did for which they did not support.

Dragon face paint

bottom of page