top of page

Dream Romance

While visiting my grandma, I dreamed that I would find love. I just went through a hard break up and was confused. I dreamed about meeting a romantic man who would take me out to look at the stars, try crazy things (tennis with the balls lit on fire), go on adventures (hike the Grand Canyon), et cetera. It was my dream world. This painting was an attempt to show how I hoped my love life would bring.

Romance Night

The relationship break up: We will name this boyfriend... George. He was amazing. George was muscular, tall, and outgoing. We met playing volleyball and then couldn't be torn apart. He made me feel like I was on top of the world. He would talk on and on about how my voice was natural music, my hair was silk, and my body was strong yet slender. I felt like I could conquer anything.

But... as the relationship progressed, he began directing me. It was small at first, I didn't care, but eventually he became demanding and controlling. The hard part was... it was not actually him who was demanding and controlling, it was his parents. His parents lived in a male dominant environment. They thought George should be the one directing everything. The family would not accept that I was independent.

One example was when I was busy doing homework. Okay, no problem. George's mom calls me. I didn't think anything of it and pick it up. She was asking me where George was at. I didn't know. I wasn't keeping track of him. He told me he was at their place. She said that he just left 5 minutes ago but was not answering his phone. "Okay..." I responded, thinking about what this had to do with me. She told me to then call him and find out where he was. She told me I needed to know where he was at. She ordered me to go out and find him so he would get back to her.

Dark and Alone

This has nothing to do with me! That is between him and his mom, not me. I told her I could not and would not do that. She got extremely upset. Summing up the story, his mom was mad, and I hung up. George then came back at me for that. His mom told him about it. He began first verbally attacking me for (1) disrespecting his mom, (2) not following what she said, and (3) not being respectful and responsible. I don't remember exactly what I said, but he didn't like the response and began getting physically aggressive. He grabbed me and shook me. My arms went numb from his squeeze. We broke up a bit after that. He kept trying to get back together, but I refused.

bottom of page